PhD Students

Masters Students

Honours Students

Dylan Bryers

Bradley Christensen

Stephen Crake

Sjoerd de Feijter

Caleb Donnelly

Jerry Ferguson

Ting Gao

Leah Gilbert

Henry Gouk

Jason Hiatt

Josh Hollinshead

Yichen Hu

Caine Jameson

George Jenkins

Zac Johnson

Rosjier Lammers

Mickey Law

Tim Leathart

Hayley Littlewood

Lucy Danyang Liu

Andrew Mackintosh

Daniel Manning

Greg Meier

Julian Melchert

Brandon Nicholson

Craig Osborne

Richard Sanger

Sam Shute

Renee Smith

Shaun Stricot-Tarboton

Jessica Turner

Jeremy Utting

Thomas Wallace

Jesse Watson

Duncan Willcock

Postgraduate Students
Honours Students
Brandon Nicholson (Mr)


  • Room No: G.B.19
  • Telephone: +64 7 838 4021
  • Facsimile: +64 7 838 4155

Research Interests
BCMS Honours Topic: "Mobile Voting (M-Voting) for democracies of the future."

For most of the world, democratic elections are currently conducted via paper ballots. In some places, paper ballots have been replaced by electronic voting booths (otherwise known as e-voting). More recently, the idea of remote e-voting has surfaced. That is, using the Internet to vote remotely (ie. from home) using your own computer.

I am researching the feasibility of developing a secure mobile application that voters can use on their smart-phones or tablets to vote from wherever they happen to be at the time the election is taking place. The main focus points of the research project are: making it secure, auditable and trustworthy to voters.

  2007 FCMS. The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato